endless

January 14, 2002 Monday - 21:07

why do you keep forcing me to adhere to your standards?

why can't you see that not everyone is like you?

why do you make me live according to your rules?

don't you see that i am not like you?

that i am not you?

don't you see that i need more space than you are giving?

don't you see that i am fiercely independant?

don't you see that your shackles are chafing?

but you don't know who i am.

you don't know that i cry myself to sleep sometimes.

you don't know that i carve my hurt into my heart.

you don't know that i am fragile like a glass sculpture.

you don't know that i am not you.

how can i let you know how much i'm hurting?

how can i let you know i don't want your half-hearted care?

how can i let you know i see the superficiality of your concern?

how can i let you know i'm afraid? of your?

how can i let you know i am not you?

i don't make you live by my standards, which you could never do. so please don't make me live by yours.

---

Theirs was not to make reply,
Theirs was not to reason why,
Theirs was but to do and die:
Into the valley of Death
Rode the six hundred.
- alfred, lord tennyson, 'charge of the light brigade'


prefix | suffix

diaryland | archive | newest entry | profile