tower

September 30, 2001 Sunday - 22:25

i've been pretty heartless about the whole wtc thing so far. i think i would forgive. but it was not my country that was attacked and it was not my family who died. so i don't think i have a right to say anything. despite how ludicrous the whole thing seems to me.

but today i saw a video of one of the people jumping out of the towers.

----

Falling.
tumbling.
limp like a rag doll.
I am falling.

my body,
it will fall across a million televisions
to a backdrop
grey and forbidding
my body,
it will become a symbol.
more in death than I ever was in life.

people will cry for me
people will rage for me
people will feel for me

but nobody will understand me
all I feel is terror
all I feel is pain
trapped up there
no escape
no relief
do I sit and wait
for death to claim me?

people will see me and cry
but I don�t want to know
don�t tell me why

don�t tell me how you will
make those who did this pay
or avenge all the lives
that were lost this day
don�t tell me how I�ve
made my country strong.

I don�t want to know all that.

I don�t want for people
to see me and cry
I don�t want to know
don�t tell me why.

all is want is for
flowers to grow
over my grave.
for someone to remember
this life I gave
and for Mother to know
that I love her.

I am spinning
beyond control
away from the sky
but into heaven

No more riding the subway
underground
I belong now to the sky.
no more buying salad cream at the grocery store
all that is left is destruction

Strange, I think
how the meaning of my life
is negated
and augmented by this
my death.
Strange, I think
how I now seemed
to have existed
solely to die.

but it doesn�t matter now.

the wind is strangely silent
as I fall through it
muffled by the blankness
of my brain.
can�t think anymore

and I see
one last time
the blue of the sky

and then

goodbye.


prefix | suffix

diaryland | archive | newest entry | profile